Thanksgiving Day

A holiday all about food. I know that Thanksgiving really isn’t all about the food, but it would appear that way sometimes. Especially if you see some of the statistics. One of the these Thanksgivings I would love to be able to bake a Turducken and then dig into a lovely Cherpumple for dessert. But not this year. This year will be a little simper. I plan on spending a quiet day at the home of my in-laws. We will gather with a small group of family and friends and give thanks together. Maybe watch a football game or two, share some memories and expose my daughter to some of the things that we truly value in life. Not the Black Friday (or Black Thursday now) sales, not the latest Hollywood releases, and not any other material possession that marketers and advertisers will try to convince you is the secret to true happiness. Have a wonderful and blessed holiday. May your cup always overflow.

“This Thanksgiving I’ll be thankful: For the prayers for it means the presence of God will fill my home. For the smells and aromas and the memories they stir. For the crowd at my house for it means I have love in my home. For the noise of children for it means their lungs are healthy. For the laughter for it means I have joy in my home. For the old stories retold for it means there is heritage to pass along. For the sleepiness afterwards for it means all are content. For the cleanup afterwards for it means we all had our fill. For dessert for it means there is always something more to look forward to. For leftovers for it reminds us that God gives abundantly beyond our imagination.”

-Author Unknown

November 2008

1 comment
  1. Hooray for stuffing! I mean the kind that goes with the turkey. Nice post.

Leave a Reply

James Kennedy

VCE Chemistry Teacher at Haileybury, Australia

reluctantdaddio

How did this happen?

SHAREHOUSE

coffee . community . culture

csamom

Encouraging Community Supported Agriculture One Week At A Time

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Simply Sheila

I'm kind of a big deal.

Alphabet Story

One spoonful is never enough

thechemistcook

A chemist by trade, but a master chef in my own mind!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

